Attack Priority

Hi all,

Newbie here. :slight_smile:

I’m confused as to how the attack priority works. Let’s say you set it to attack cruisers at 80%, frigates at 50%, and fighters at 10%. What exactly does that mean?

Do you pick the closest enemy, and if for example, it’s a frigate then there is a 50% chance you will go after the frigate? In other words … Heads you go after the frigate, and tails you pick the next closest unit? Then if the next closest one is a cruiser you have an 80% chance of attacking it? And so on, etc.

The above is just a wild guess. Any help would be more than appreciated!!

Thanks.

As far as I can tell for firing, the attack priority appears to have something to do with accuracy.

At 50%/50%/50%, the craft seems to fire it’s weapon at whatever is ‘easiest’ to hit at the moment. In most cases, the easiest thing to hit is the nearest stationary floating space pig of a cruiser.

But starting at something like 70% attack fighters, 50% attack cruisers, a frigate will begin to fire it’s higher tracking weapons at fighters while still preferring to fire it’s slow 1.0 tracking plasma cannon at cruisers (when possible) - the gunners seem to understand the limitations of their tracking, at least some of the time.

By the time you hit 100% fighters, the frigate will probably be unloading every weapon on fighters at any opportunity. I don’t know what the various thresholds are.

As far as driving is concerned, the % has something to do with distance I haven’t determined yet. Units with 1% attack fighter orders invariably end up chasing fighters sometime before the fight is over, so if your ships do not have strong AA or aren’t in formation with other units, it might be more advisable to simply delete that order.

Thanks for the reply! But I’m still a bit confused I have to say. :frowning:

A few questions if I may:

Would 100%/100%/100% do the same as 50%/50%/50%?