Bug in 1.19

Hi,

I’m not sure how many people see this, but I attach some screenshots which show a bug in Democracy 2. I’m playing Democracy 2 in window mode, and it seems that all I have to trigger this bug is to go to the country selection screen, switch to other things for a while, and then go back (yeah, I play and work at the same time). If I attempt to start the game at this point, the game crashes and my debugger is awakened (I am a programmer). Looks like memory corruption, but I have no idea why alt-tabbing would do this, unless… there’s a problem with the rendering code.

A slight variation of this happens after a game ends and I want to start a new one, possibly having the same cause: switching to other applications while playing.

This isn’t annoying so far, as I can restart the game, and it only takes a few seconds to do so, but it may have some deeper implications that I don’t know yet.

Cheers.

[attachment=1]Democracy2-bug.jpg[/attachment]

[attachment=0]Democracy2-bug2.jpg[/attachment]

Yeah, definitely a bug in when treating “paint” messages from Windows. I open the game in window mode, fiddle around, nothing happens. At one point I need to open the calculator for a simple operation. I close the calculator (I was in the country selection screen) and bam! Problem occurs. Also, while with the calculator on top, when I moved it on top of the game, black background was being left behind (I expected to see the game menu, not black canvas), which points to the “paint” message I mentioned.

I switched to full screen mode, started a clean game, pressed alt+tab to switch away, then switched back to the game to obtain the same effect.

It should be trivial to fix I guess…

You are the first person to report this, so I’m assuming its more likely to be a PC-hardware specific issue than a code one. Has anyone else got this? It’s definitely some rendering corruption, looks like some texture pointers are getting swapped.