Dreadnought Only Modules

Hi, I’m new to playing with the files on this game and recently downloaded classic dreadnoughts(thank you). Using that mod made me wonder, “why not just make dreadnought specific modules instead of making them just super cruisers” so I attempted to do so. What i did was change the size of a module from “Cruiser” to “Dreadnought” and likewise I did the same thign on the Dreadnought Hull. Once I made this change however the game crashes upon trying to select a different hull type in the ship editor. Is what i’m trying to accomplish possible or is there something i’m missing?

Greetings payto2n and welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

At this point in time, we are restricted to 3 sizes of modules ( Fighter / Frigate / Cruiser) . These 3 sizes have been hard wired into the game and we modders can not introduce any new ones. (AFAIK it is mainly due to the fact that the size is also used in other aspects such as targeting and gameplay, therefore introduction of a new size would cause shear chaos)

So in order to make a “Dreadnought only” module, you will have to get creative with the requirements of the weapon.

Bummer, oh well thank you for the quick answer though.

Here’s an idea:

Make modules that use up a crapton of power, but add a power output boost of like 1000%, then add a module that produces 500 power, while also consuming 500 power. the power output boost will increase the produced power to 5500, so you have 5000 available power.

The problem with that: when the ship is destroyed it will make a REALLY big shockwave. I’ve had PI Leviathans demolish entire squads (of dreadnoughts too, I believe) with the shockwave, and I’m certain. It was less than your number. A more effective method us cost.one popular method involves a super high price and major negative cost multiplier… You could make a completely desperate set of modules by setting the variable numbers to 100x normal and make everything -.99