Someone else has already mentioned that custom units can get duplicated when saving changes to them.
I’ve checked the directories in which units are saved, and noticed a few things…
I see units saved in two locations:
- \data\sampleunits; and
- \Documents\My Games\GratuitousTankBattles\player_units.
The first time I save a custom unit, sometimes it is saved in one directory, sometimes in the other. I haven’t noticed anything that affects which directory it uses first.
If I later save changes to the same unit, it seems to correctly overwrite if the unit is in the player_units directory.
However, if it was only in the sampleunits directory, then the next save always goes to the player_units directory. The original version in sampleunits is untouched.
From this point on, the unit list shows two of the same unit name.
Deleting the one in sampleunits removes the duplicate and allows subsequent saves to just overwrite the one in player_units.