Help With Module Modding!!

Ok, so I’m brand new to GSB. Bought it two days ago, and I wanna mod it… However, it seems like the first thing I wanted to do is rediculously difficult… How can I make missiles fire in a volley? I vaguely saw something about using the Bullet SIM, but could anyone please elaborate?

Hi Defkab and welcome to the modding forums.

First a quick pointer about the Missile code: The turret can only have one missile in flight at any time.
So you have a few options:
A) Don’t use the missile code (Use the bullet code and make them dumbfire missiles)
B) Increase the speed at which they travel.
C) Fake a volley of missiles using Decoys and Live Sub-munitions.

Option A involves editing a “bullet” turret and using a missile sprite as the bullet sprite.

The line of code you need to add to your “bullet” turret is:
bullet_texture = Some_Missile_Sprite.dds

Pros: You can get a ton of “missiles” on the screen at any time
Cons: Not a missile, so Point Defense / scramblers can not shoot them down.

Option B involves increasing the speed of the missile - its not really ideal since you still only get one missile at a time (It just travels really quickly)

Pros: You can fire more missiles per second
Cons: Might be too fast for the eye to see at 4x

Option C involves using Live Warheads on Decoys and making the missile “split” on launch.

So if you take the cruiser_missile_multiple.txt code
Add in this new line of code somewhere (below decoy release range is fine)
num_submunitions = 3
Note this number can be between 1 and 6

Change the decoy release range from 450 to 1160 (which matches the maximum range)
decoy_release_range = 1160

You end up with a turret that fires 4 missiles per volley

Pros: You can fire more missiles on screen per volley
Cons: You cant have a multi missile volley and your limited to a maximum of 7 missile per volley

In case your interested - it seems Option C is a common choice:
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6939
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6283