Mental health care and the Police

I think there probably should be some policies inspired by current situations in, in particular, the US, but honestly it’s an often overlooked topic in lots of places.

So in the US there are currently lots of calls to defund or even abolish police. There are various takes on what that does and doesn’t mean, and I’m by no means an expert on any, let alone all of them, but at a minimum it means diverting resources away from a ballooning, paramilitary-esque police tasked with responding to a lot of things police was never designed to handle (such as people in dire need of mental health care or even keeping kids in school in check, causing the infamous school-to-prison debacle), and towards services designed to appropriately deal with any such issues.
So imo, some more fine-grained ways to make sure the police treats the people as desired (be that harsh or gentle), as well as some preventative measures that reduce people even being tempted into crime in the first place, thereby reducing the need for police force, would be a very good addition.
What exactly that entails I’m not sure. This could be as simple as a balance slider (much like the current prison slider to that effect), or it could span several policies across law&order, public services, and welfare.

Furthermore and unrelatedly, suicide is, as far as I know, unaccounted for in the game so far, but in most places as far as I know there are more deaths by suicide than by homicide, and for instance, as of right now Suicide is the single biggest killer of men under the age of 45 in the UK!