[MOD TOOL] Big Pharma editor

A little project I’ve started working on for a bit on and off now in my spare time is an editor for Big Pharma. I spoke with Tim about it a bit over Twitter and he seems keen on the idea. But for feature requests and generally knowing the heck modders really want (I’m just a programmer, not really a modder) I figured I’d make a thread here and see what kind of interest there is and where I should focus my efforts on most.

Since Big Pharma is limited to JSON file modding, the tool can’t do anything that you can’t do manually writing JSON. As such the tool is merely to assist in a few things:

• Less error prone mods (no typos)
  • Visually seeing what the mod will do (with limitations)
  • Easily generate chunks of JSON that contain exactly what you want it to contain

A small preview of what state of the editor can be found here: i.imgur.com/nCVdKga.png

So my question to you guys reading this forum is: What would you like to see in the tool, do you even want a tool?
Eventually I hope to encompass everything the JSON files have to offer, so it is mostly to assign priorities to what you guys find most important vs what is changed the most in mods.

It’s a great iniciative which will encourage even more people to try out this modding feature.

As a modder, my last attempts were focused on the research tree (research.data file), and I’ve created a completely new research tree, more focused on specialization. Setting up connections between each project took me a lot of time, so it would be nice to have an easy drag-and-drop tool to connect projects, another tool for breaking them, and also a preview of the research tree to see how everything is connected. Being able to drag-and-drop projects to change it’s position could be interesting, too. In addition, it would be interesting to automatic generate a strings.data file based on changes made.