modding

I’m new to this and don’t understand how to add stuff to my game through modding, could anyone explain this to me please? :slight_smile:

Howdy Howdy Maria3, and Welcome to the Forums :slight_smile:

There are 4 things you need to know to mod the game files:

1. BACKUP FILES before changing them. This can save you some major headaches.

2. Easily moddable and, arguably, the more important game files are .CSV and .TXT files in the game folder.

3. (This is personal preference but) when editing the files you can use Excel or Notepad or any another CSV (comma separated values) program to edit the game files. I’ve had mixed outcomes when using Excel as it sometimes breaks things by adding “” everywhere, however Excel 2010 is working for me these days. An easy test to see if your Excel works is to install the game, open one of the CSV files, save it, close it, then try running the game again. If the game doesn’t load you know your Excel won’t work, but if it does load then you’ll be fine using it :stuck_out_tongue:

4. When you completely break the game, and it will happen, reinstalling the game will fix your problems (and, as you’ll always have backups of your modded files, you can easily add them back in, right? Right!)

5. Changing LOTS of things before testing makes figuring out what’s caused the game to break (debugging) much harder. Change something, then test, until you’re confident you know what you’re doing.

The CSV and TXT files can be found in the game installation folder. On my computer it’s the “E:\Games[b]Kudos 2\data[/b]” and “E:\Games[b]Kudos 2\data\simulation[/b]” directories. Basically everything you’ll likely want is in the “simulation” folder, however the config.txt and strings.ini files (in the “data” folder) are also fun to play with :slight_smile:

There’s far too much stuff to go into specifics about but: