Small change request: new policy canceling

I just started playing the Demo3 beta, and I’m having a blast so far, but one thing that is definitely annoying: you can’t see the effects of a new policy until you enact it, at which point the political capital is already spent. This means that if I want to make rational choices about what new policies to implement, I would have to memorize the effects of every policy in the game. When I decide to increase/decrease/eliminate an already existing policy, I get to see exactly what my changes will do before spending any political capital; it seems like enacting new policies should work the same way. Basically, I want a ‘Cancel’ button on the popup for a newly enacted policy that will refund the political capital cost of that policy.

Although I understand this POV, this is a deliberate design decision aimed to reflect the genuine uncertainty as to what will be the effects of a policy before it is implemented. it’s much easier for governments to get (vaguely sensible) ideas as to what will happen if an existing policy is adjusted, than it is to measure the impacts of a theoretical policy before it is in place. For example people in the UK argued endlessly about what the effects of a congestion charge for Central London would do, but nobody really knew until it was introduced.

Is there some degree of randomization as to the effects of a yet-unimplemented policy, or are those effects fixed and simply not displayed to the user? If the former is true, that’s really cool and I withdraw my comment. Assuming it’s the latter case, I have to say that I disagree with this for at least two big reasons:

1. As a strategy game, this means that the only reasonable way to play is with a reference guide or lots of memorized information. This is, simply put, bad gameplay. It doesn’t make min-maxing more difficult to pull off successfully; it just makes it more tedious and forces you to consult out-of-game materials constantly.