Some beginner questions

Hello, I just started playing GSB and I’m trying to figure out how a number of the modules work and/or when/where/why you’d use them. It’s hard for me to figure out how much impact/benefit many of these have, and space is limited. I’d appreciate any answers, tips, insights, etc. Thanks!

1. Terget booster: How does the target booster work? Does it help projectiles to hit, turrets to aim, or both? Must have, nice to have, or don’t bother?

2. Repair modules: What does the repair rate mean? The specs for the nanobot repair seem clearly better that the others - Is there any reason to use the others instead? Why do the armor repair modules cost so very much more to unlock than the nanobot one? Do ships tend to last long enough for these to have an impact? Are repairers Must have, nice to have, or don’t bother? Worth having one (or more?), say instead of an extra armor piece or shield?

3. Point defense scanners: How useful? Must have, nice to have, or don’t bother?

4. ECM beams: How useful, compared to point defense? Fire rate seems slower. Is this suppoed to be used in conjunction with point defense? If so, might not 2 pd’s be better instead? Again, Must have, nice to have, or don’t bother?

5. Target painters: How do these work? Do all missiles shot at the painted target automatically hit? Or just one? Is it just missiles shot from the painter’s ship at the target, or from any ship? The fire interval is very long - does the “painted” effect last that entire time between refirings, or does it only last a portion of the time? Must have, nice to have, or don’t bother?

6. Frigate turbo shield: it has higher costs, less resistance, less hp, and lower recharge rate that shield 2, for just 7 extra shield strength. Is that really worth it?