Some questions about general mod capabilities

I’m new to GSB, and have only jut looked into making my own mod, but I have some general questions about the overall capabilities of custom mods. I have a few ideas, but want to know if it’s even possible to do some of the things I’m interested in doing. Also, while I’m thinking of it, is there any comprehensive “official” documentation on the various components of GSB to allow making custom ones, or is it all what the residents of this forum have generously compiled here?

On to the questions:

1. Is it possible to create entire new ship classes, or are you limited to the 3 basic types that come with GSB?
  2. If you can’t make new classes, is is possible to limit specific items to specific ship types within a class, or is it only possible to limit them to a specific race? E.g., if I make 3 fighter designs can I limit a particular weapon to just one of them?
  3. Is it possible to make a fighter require more grew than just a pilot? e.g., a bomber or gunship that requires 2-6 people to run?
  4. Can firing arcs be limited on weapons? e.g., can you limit them to one side of a ship, or even make them keel-mounted for straight-line firing only?
  5. Is there any provision for area-effect beam weapons? e.g., the beam is wide and hits anything it touches in range rather than having to fire at a specific target.
  6. Is there any provision for “omega-class” weapons? i.e., an area effect (beam or explosion) weapon that pretty much vaporizes anything in its area of effect.
  7. Do ships enter combat with weapons fully charged and ready to fire, or do they have to wait for the refire delay before first firing? If they start ready to fire, is there a way to set a minimum delay before they can fire, even if under fire (to force waiting before firing)?