[Mod] Cycling Infrastructure Policy (V1.1)

Cycling Infrastructure Policy
v1.1 UPDATED!!! 14th October 2013
By Matthew Jackson (MattJackson on Steam, add me!)

Hey folks! Can I just say, having played Democracy 2 I’m thoroughly enjoying the new addition to the franchise. No other “game” or simulation really lives up to what Democracy has to offer. I’m currently studying Town & Regional Planning at University and long story short, cycling and transport in general is of real importance to me. Anyhow, I decided to come up with a mod and had a play-about with the new modding system (which, can I just say is really quite easy!)

I think it’s pretty much spot-on but I’d appreciate some feedback if there are any problems or if people would like to suggest some improvements or additions!

Thanks guys!
Cycling Infrastructure Policy v1.1.zip (7.86 KB)

This is a nice little mod! I’ll definitely be using this one. My only couple of comments, which are both very small, are:

• I’d suggest possibly adding a negative reaction from motorists? My experience suggests that a lot of motorists don’t really like cyclists, and cycling lanes take up road they could be using.
  • Maybe also have the health effect take longer to come in? At the moment it’s zero delay.

But I really like it! Thanks for sharing.

-El

Do you mind me building a mod installer for this and adding it to the website?

I like the idea; I don’t like the implementation.

Cycle infrastructure is a good thing to have in the game, and I thank you for doing it. However, I’ve got two big issues with the mod as stands.

1. The description of the policy is incre biased. I totally get that you’re strongly in favour of this - I agree! But if you read pretty much any policy in the game, the description is quite neutrally phrased. This is basically a short paragraph about why it’s an amazing idea, topped off with a nod to capitalists not liking wasting money on it.