Ask cliffski

I thought I’d answer some general big sweeping questions any of you had about the game, coding, indie games, any other positech games or whatever, not here… but in pseudo blog format tomorrow… Maybe…
Anyway… I need some interesting and clever questions from you people. Remember, I am not a PR person for activision, so you can actually ask questions that people like that will never answer. (doesn’t neccesarily mean I will answer them, but I might :smiley:
Ask away!

Have you been having fun seeing the crazy fleets people put together on the challenges?

How has the reaction to GSB been, both in terms of popularlity and fiscally? (You mentioned being worried about it not selling and financial woes and stuff, so, some of us are worried about you!)

What is the least balanced part of GSB right now, in your estimation?

Are you a fan of Neal Asher’s books, or are the purple proton beams just a coincidence? I got’s to know. :slight_smile:

As an aspiring indie developer myself, I am particularly interested in your development and design methodology. Your games are a lot more intricate than most other indie games out there right now and I believe that is part of what makes you successful. I would love to see you talk more on the following topics:

• How did you approache the design and stats balancing of GSB. Did you spreadsheet things out to determine effects and consequences of changing things and if so, how did you actually do this?

• How do you approach development? Do you start with an idea and than start coding a prototype and go from there? I’m really interested to know how Cliff Harris goes about creating a Positech game. I also really enjoy reading about and seeing the interim stages a game has gone through from beginning to end.

Thanks!

What were your favourite games and platforms when growing up?

Cheers,
Gareth.

How many hours do you spend coding every day? What does your daily schedule look like as an indie game programmer?