It's been a while, Gratuitous Modding!

How’s it going everyone?

Salutations. I hope that someone sees this and reads it, as I have some things I would like to share. First off, I can’t thank this game and its modding community enough for dedicating countless hours of fun in my childhood. It was a blast to come home from school and delve into this game with my brother. Shortly after I found out what modding was, it opened new doors for me. I wanted to learn all the tricks of the trade that would allow me to manifest my own custom content into the game. It almost made me feel like I was a game developer, a career I currently striving toward and hoping to succeed in. But that’s enough about me.

With the upcoming release of R-Type Final 2, it brought a wave of nostalgia that I hadn’t felt in years. So I decided to revisit my favorite childhood games, which landed me here.

Through this current pandemic, I was forced to become a recluse in my own home, which actually wasn’t the biggest change for someone as introverted as I am. I decided to scavenge these ancient forums into how to get started. Getting past all the dead links and decade-old posts (which brought literal tears of nostalgia to my eyes), I got the grasp of it. Because of massive boredom and avid interest, I was able to create 2 new races with fully fledged scenarios, and additional ships to the existing vanilla and DLC races. With the expansions, I decided to add new ship classes to the existing roster that they didn’t have before (Corvettes, Dreadnoughts, etc.). Please don’t critique my designs too harshly, I’m still fairly a novice :smile: