Long time lurker, first time poster

Since I just put up my first post I figured I should introduce myself. takes bow

Just fyi: I put this in a new topic because I didn’t want to clutter up someone else’s with a flood of replies.

Anyway, my real name is Scott, though as Prophet309 I am the proud owner of the “breakthrough” federation and tribe fleets if you’ve ever played them. I have been browsing the Gratuitous Forum for about 4 months but finally got the irresistable urge to post. I mostly follow the modding forum (hence my topic location) and I must say that there are some amazing mods/modders here. At the moment I have the Scavenger, Legios and Uni-T mods installed, and I’ve also used the AMAZING new hulls in the 3xper1ment4l mod. I’ve gotten very good at fiddling around with the text files and such, but I have no idea how to create sprites. Luckily, the ones you guys have created are terrific. I may be alone on this but I actually really really like your glowy corrupted hulls darkstar! I think they fit perfectly with the drones and the new black+purple hybrid hulls. I eagerly await the finish of the Union mod and those short stories are awesome!

signing off,

Prophet309

I’m honored you like the short stories I’ve written…I’m about 15% of the way through part 3…which will reveal yet another Union ship: the Starburst. Most people would call it a “dreadnaught” class cruiser.

As for making these sprites: they are REALLY easy.

I used a program called Gimp (after downloading an installer to let it run .dds files) then all I did was copy and paste a bunch of parts from other hulls together to make something entirely new.

for instance…look at the grey/silver ship in my second story: essentially its all made of Rebel Parts: a Fenrir cruiser for the main hull, The wings of the Atlantis Bomber, the back end of the Valhalla Cruiser…and a few bits from other frigates and stuff.