Anyone want a real-time battle server for this game?

I was just thinking, the challenges are not all that great for two reasons:

one, if you put up a challenge someone always knows a counter to it.

and two, its just not the same as being able to trash-talk your enemy and saying hopefull comments to your oppenent about that one cruiser thats taking a beating.

There are plenty of other reasons too im sure, but i cant think of any other major ones.

The nice thing about Gratuitous space battles is (at least i think) it wouldnt need much server requirements, since once the battle starts neither players are giving orders or things of the sort. There just has to be a chat-line between them.

At least in theory, this sounds easy. Im no computer programmer but it couldnt be all that hard. Im sure people would gladly make their computer a server volunteer.

Agreements? Disagreements? Angry mafia members?

i forgot to say how this would be!

Basically, each side has 5 minutes to create their fleet. You have no info on what the other person is putting down, unless he tells you or something. Once the battle starts, it becomes an epic hopefull match of wondering if you put too many fighters or OMG they got BOMBERS! i forgot anti fighters! and etc.

It would be interesting at some point to have something like a chat room where you can issue a live challenge. Your fleet versus their fleet. You both watch the battle, can chat during it, and then the game stores the results in your profile.

Exactly my idea!

Why limit it to two people. Make it a chat room, and make it possible to watch anybody else’s challenge. =)

NOW that, is possibly the greatest idea.
Ever.
Of all time!

All you have to do is add betting (with the honor points) on who will win, and BAM! you have possibly the greatest game ever.